“Young people are inherently curious. With encouragement and support from adults, they will eagerly explore the world around them whenever they can. It is the start of a journey in which curiosity builds interest that seeds career choice and innovation for tomorrow
Dame Athene Donald, Ambassador

Meet our ambassadors

We are delighted that Professor Dame Athene Donald and Lord Martin Rees, Astronomer Royal, supports Cambridge Science Centre’s work as our ambassadors.

We are incredibly proud of our ambassadors, who are crucial to our charity’s work and would like to thank them for their continued support.

Professor Dame Athene Donald, DBE FRS

Professor of Experimental Physics, University of Cambridge

Dame Athene Donald became a Professor of Experimental Physics at the University of Cambridge in 1998 and is Master of Churchill College, Cambridge. She was appointed DBE in the 2010 Queen’s Birthday Honours in recognition of her services to physics.

Dame Donald has also chaired many

committees within Cambridge and beyond and has served as the University Gender Equality Champion (2010-14). As well as being an ambassador of Cambridge Science Centre, she is also a member of the Scientific Council of the European Research Council and a Trustee of the Science Museum.

Professor Lord Martin Rees

Astronomer Royal

Professor Martin Rees is a Fellow of Trinity College and Emeritus Professor of Cosmology and Astrophysics at the University of Cambridge. He holds the honorary title of Astronomer Royal as well as Visiting Professor at Imperial College London and at Leicester University. In 1973, he became a fellow of King’s College and Plumian Professor of Astronomy and Experimental Philosophy

at Cambridge (continuing in the latter post until 1991) and served for ten years as director of Cambridge’s Institute of Astronomy. From 1992 to 2003 he was a Royal Society Research Professor, and then from 2004 to 2012, Master of Trinity College, Cambridge. In 2005, Professor Rees was appointed to the House of Lords, and he was President of the Royal Society from 2005-10.